China Canon - Based on Si Ku - Interim Summary

So after going through the Si Ku catelogue quickly, we have the following preliminary list (reclassified based on current common views of the categories):



1. Wang Bi's Commentaries to Zhou Yi

2. Mao Shi Zhu Shu 

3. Zhu Xi's Commentaries on the Four Books

4. Shang Shu Zhu Shu

5. Chun Qiu Zuo Zhuan Zhu Shu 

6. Li Ji Zhu Shu 



1. Historical Records

2. Comprehensive Mirror for Government by Sima Guang

3. Tong Dian

4. Records of the Three Kingdoms (with Commentaries)

5. Shi Shuo Xin Yu

6. Records of the Western Regions

7. Book of Early Han



1. Xun Zi

2. Han Fei Zi

3. Mo Zi

4. Sun Zi

5. Ming Ru Xue An by Huang Zongxi or Wang Shouren's Works

5. Yang Xiong's Tai Xuan Jing  or Huang Ji Jing Shi Shu

6. Lu Jiuyuan's Works

7. Dong Zhongshu's Chun Qiu Fan Lu 

8. Ri Zhi Lu



1. Wen Xuan Zhu and/or 2. Cu Ci Zhang Ju

3.  Du Fu and 4. Li Bai or Tang Shi Pin Hui, or the post- Si Ku collection of 300 Tang Poems)

5. Han Yu (or Tang Song Ba Da Jia Wen Chao, or a post-Si Ku smaller collection of Gu Wen Guan Zhi)

6. Su Shi

7.  Li Qingzhao (or alternately the anthology Hua An Ci Xuan)


Altogether a list of 6+7+8+6 = 27 works, with potential to cut / combine.


This list - as it is based on Si Ku, does not include Buddhist or Daoist works, does not include all important works in Qing dynasty, and also does not include literature for the masses such as dramas or novels. 

Comments: 1 (Discussion closed)
  • #1

    Linnea Udell (Tuesday, 24 January 2017 07:45)

    We're a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You've done a formidable job and our whole neighborhood will likely be grateful to you.