THE Rankings 2013-2014 (2): Citations

This is to be found here.

 

I am just looking at the first page, the list from 1-200, and found that the scores of top 10 in this category takes ranges from 99.0 - 100.0. Below I try to reorder the ranking just for this indicator, and also include the other schools listed in the top 13 for overall ranking.

Rank Universities Citations Score
1 MIT 100.0
2 Rice 99.9
2 UC Santa Cruz 99.9
4 Caltech 99.8
5 Princeton 99.7
6 UC Santa Barbara 99.4
7 UC Berkeley 99.3
8 Harvard 99.1
8 Stanford 99.1
10 Florida Institute of Technology 99.0
  Chicago 98.0
  Cambridge 95.7
  UCLA 95.6
  Columbia 95.6
  Oxford 95.4
  Yale 93.5
  Imperial College London 90.0

Several observations:

1. List seems to favor science and technology schools - e.g. high scores of MIT and Caltech and low scores for Oxford and Yale.

2. Dominance of the UC system - 3 of them in top 10.

3. Imperial College London is quite a bit behind - now the question is - what brought them to the top 13?

4. Notables non-top 13 schools: Rice, UC Santa Cruz, UC Santa Barbara, Florida Institute of Technology

5. Lastly, in my HYPMS+CO+CCC formulation, only HPMS + Caltech is on this list of top 10 based on citations. Yale, Cambridge, Oxford, Columbia, Chicago are out.

 

BTW, it seems fairly clear that if the universities do not primarily generate research output in English, there is no chance you get a good citation score and get into the top list.

Write a comment

Comments: 5
  • #1

    sex telefony (Tuesday, 17 January 2017 05:49)

    eksmitowawszy

  • #2

    Vickie Silveira (Saturday, 21 January 2017 16:52)


    Wonderful, what a webpage it is! This webpage gives useful information to us, keep it up.

  • #3

    Landon Drewes (Saturday, 21 January 2017 22:47)


    I've been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It's pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  • #4

    Kimberly Hirano (Sunday, 22 January 2017 04:31)


    First off I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question which I'd like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I've had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thanks!

  • #5

    Venetta Kist (Sunday, 22 January 2017 08:08)


    Heya i'm for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.